Follow us on:

Log in

Empowering Experienced Professionals for Successful Career Transitions

Upcoming Speakers

    • Mon, October 03, 2022
    • 7:00 PM - 8:30 PM
    • VIRTUAL MEETING! Please register to receive login information.
    • 89
    Register

    Upskilling During the Great Resignation

    Discussion Areas:

    •       What do you need to know about the future of work and the workplace?
    •       What's a lifelong learning culture and why it’s important to your success?
    •       What is the difference between school & education?
    •       Why should you be tracking future work trends?
    •       What does the future of education look like?
    •       What is a “humanized” workplace and why is this so important?

      ABOUT THE SPEAKER

      Workplace futurist SJ Barakony is an American small business founder with a boundless appreciation for people, entrepreneurship, liberty, & lifelong learning. He has ties to multiple business ventures: He started the Education Sherpa in late 2011; over the next 10+ years, he's been offered a number of opportunities to partner with others, inc. the H7 Network; Economic Impact Catalyst ; The Entrepreneurial Leap; Bee Konnected, Elevate Capital, and Web Strategy + / Social Media Enthusiasts. SJ is a thought leader, guest blogger, super-connector, speaker, historian and soft-skills specialist.



      The 40Plus Monday Speaker Series is sponsored by the Fairfax County Economic Development Authority (FCEDA). FCEDA's Talent Initiative Program provides great resources to connect our 40Plus members to hiring companies, agencies and non-profits across Northern Virginia through https://workinnorthernvirginia.com/.

      ====================================================

      Due to the continuing impact of the Coronavirus pandemic, this will be a VIRTUAL MEETING!! Please register online to receive instructions about logging in to the Zoom session. Login instructions will be emailed to all participants who register for the session.

      By joining the Zoom session, you are consenting to be recorded. Recordings of 40Plus Zoom sessions may be used for promotional purposes.

      • Mon, October 10, 2022


      • Mon, October 17, 2022
      • 7:00 PM - 8:30 PM
      • VIRTUAL MEETING! Please register to receive login information.
      • 99
      Register

      A RISE in Ranks: Leadership Transformation

      Learn

      · Leadership Transformation: How to Stop Managing and Start Leading

      · Critical Reflection: Self and Team

      · Blueprint for Empowerment: Perseverance and Adaptability

      · Building a Culture That You Love: Communication Up/Down The Ranks Is Key

        ABOUT THE SPEAKER

        Lead with your feet, not your fingers. After 25 years of rising the ranks in the Navy, Dr. Tommy Nash discovered that the formula for effective leadership was derived from being in front and moving forward rather than pointing and commanding deferential ranks.

         After graduating high school, a class of 33 pupils, in a dirt-road town, Tommy sought out a career in the Navy. His leadership transformation mentality started within, realizing that where you start has little to do with how far you go.

        Tommy uses his passion for education to lead his team to the extremes of efficiency by way of shared leadership and clear communication. He advises against an archaic form of managerial style, replacing this format with the acronym that motivated his narrative, RISE. Remember thy path, Inspire all at arm's length, Stomp out fear, and Elevate teammates.

        Now, a program manager for TSA, he leads his team to the extremes of efficiency by way of shared leadership and clear communication. He advises against an archaic form of managerial style, replacing this format with the acronym that motivated his narrative, RISE. Remember thy path, Inspire all at arm's length, Stomp out fear, and Elevate teammates.

        Through Trust, Adaptability, Perseverance, and Critical Reflection, Dr. Tommy Nash shares proven naval ideas of leadership that benefit civilian businesses with the intent of improving worker relations.


        The 40Plus Monday Speaker Series is sponsored by the Fairfax County Economic Development Authority (FCEDA). FCEDA's Talent Initiative Program provides great resources to connect our 40Plus members to hiring companies, agencies and non-profits across Northern Virginia through https://workinnorthernvirginia.com/.

        ====================================================

        Due to the continuing impact of the Coronavirus pandemic, this will be a VIRTUAL MEETING!! Please register online to receive instructions about logging in to the Zoom session. Login instructions will be emailed to all participants who register for the session.

        By joining the Zoom session, you are consenting to be recorded. Recordings of 40Plus Zoom sessions may be used for promotional purposes.

      Past Speakers

      Mon, September 26, 2022 Encore Presentation! “Northern Virginia Has a Job for You” ~ with Mike Batt
      Mon, September 19, 2022 Boost Your Online Branding with a WordPress Blog ~ with Gary Vaughan
      Mon, September 12, 2022 Six Steps to Building Confidence ~ with Kelly Labrecque
      Mon, September 05, 2022 Labor Day - No Speaker
      Mon, August 29, 2022 “Northern Virginia Has a Job for You” ~ with Mike Batt
      Mon, August 22, 2022 Encore Presentation! How I Survived the Challenges of a Two-Year Job Search ~ with Craig Muckle
      Mon, August 15, 2022 How to Successfully Break Into a New Industry ~ with Laura Koepsell
      Mon, August 08, 2022 Search. Grow. Build: Creating Clarity for the Next Stage of Your Career An Interactive Panel Discussion ~ with Ilene Rein, Cicely Simpson, and Chris Prouty
      Mon, August 01, 2022 Encore Presentation! How to Look More Professional on Video ~ with Lenzy Ruffin
      Mon, July 25, 2022 Investing in Your Career Happiness Portfolio ~ with Denise Riebman Fowler
      Mon, July 18, 2022 No Speaker Monday, July 18th. See you next week.
      Mon, July 11, 2022 How I Survived the Challenges of a Two-Year Job Search ~ with Craig Muckle
      Mon, July 04, 2022 Independence Day. No Speaker
      Mon, June 27, 2022 Encore Presentation! Build a Career Planning Roadmap to Fire-Up Your Job Search ~ with Charley Swords
      Mon, June 20, 2022 Five Strategies to Keep Your Job Search Momentum Going ~ with Tamara Wolfe
      Mon, June 13, 2022 Encore Presentation! Online Tools to Research, Identify, and Vet Potential Employers ~ with Allan Freedman
      Mon, June 06, 2022 Job Search Tips, Lessons Learned and Local Resources for Older Professionals
      Mon, May 30, 2022 Memorial Day Holiday. No Meeting.
      Mon, May 23, 2022 Encore Presentation! FCEDA: Continue Your Career with More Than 100,000 Jobs Currently Available to Work Remotely and In Office Settings Across Northern Virginia ~ with Mike Batt
      Mon, May 16, 2022 Stress-Less Networking - Create a Plan that Works for You ~ with Sara Evans
      Mon, May 09, 2022 Five Essential Selling Skills for Landing Your Dream Job ~ with Ronda Berns
      Mon, May 02, 2022 EARLY BIRD PRESENTATION (9:30 AM) - The Great Resignation: Effectively Positioning Yourself in this New Work Environment ~ with Mike Bruni
      Mon, April 25, 2022 Online Tools to Research, Identify, and Vet Potential Employers ~ with Allan Freedman
      Mon, April 18, 2022 NEW DATE AND TIME - SMART Goals for the Mature Professional ~ with Hanh Michael
      Mon, April 11, 2022 Encore Presentation! The Truth About ATS — How to Write a Resume That Works in 2022 & Beyond ~ with Melanie Denny
      Mon, April 04, 2022 Stay Inspired and Resilient in Negotiating Your Career and Life ~ with Karen Litzinger
      Mon, March 28, 2022 Ten Essential Steps to Create a Successful Speech That Sells - YOU! ~ with Heidi Parr Kerner
      Mon, March 21, 2022 From Confusion to Clarity: How to Switch Careers with Ease ~ with Melanie Denny
      Mon, March 14, 2022 FCEDA: Continue Your Career with More Than 100,000 Jobs Currently Available to Work Remotely and In Office Settings Across Northern Virginia ~ with Mike Batt
      Mon, March 07, 2022 The Great Resignation – What Are You Resigning From…And To? ~ with Marva Goldsmith
      Mon, February 28, 2022 22 Ways to Find More Time, More Enjoyment & More Life in Your Life ~ with Carol Moulton
      Mon, February 21, 2022 A Better You During The Great Resignation! ~ with Marvin Powell
      Mon, February 14, 2022 How to Marry Your What Ifs and Break Up with Toxic Narratives ~ with Dr. Sherri Yoder
      Mon, February 07, 2022 Ten Keys Needed to Unlock Your Full Potential ~ with Kevin Coleman
      Mon, January 31, 2022 Speed Networking!
      Mon, January 24, 2022 Encore Presentation - Using Simple Coaching Techniques to Succeed in Work and Life ~ with Millree Williams
      Mon, December 27, 2021 NO SPEAKER Dec. 23 and Dec. 30 ~Happy Holidays!~
      Mon, December 20, 2021 Finding New Purpose and Significance in Work and Career During Retirement Planning ~ with Vinod Jain
      Mon, December 13, 2021 Thriving in the Post-Pandemic “Gig Economy” ~ with Sheila Murphy
      Mon, December 06, 2021 The Federal Government is Hiring in 2022! ~ with Kathryn Troutman
      Mon, November 29, 2021 No Meeting on Monday, November 29th
      Mon, November 22, 2021 Become a Revolutionary Leader ~ with Charley Swords
      Mon, November 15, 2021 Top 10 Career Blunders ~ with Ron Moore
      Mon, November 08, 2021 Emerge Stronger -- Feedback and Speed Networking Session [Cancelled]
      Mon, November 01, 2021 Tactical Tips for the Job Search (Part 2) ~ with Joanna Hoffschneider
      Mon, October 25, 2021 Tactical Tips for the Job Search (Part 1) ~ with Joanna Hoffschneider
      Mon, October 18, 2021 Develop a Transition Mindset for a Successful Career Move ~ with Tamara Wolfe
      Mon, October 11, 2021 No Speaker on Monday, October 11, 2021
      Mon, October 04, 2021 Is it time to Play Your Bigger Game? ~ with Rick Tamlyn
      Mon, September 27, 2021 A Strategic Approach to Virtually Finding Your Ideal Job ~ with Al Lichtenstein
      Mon, September 20, 2021 Working with Older Professionals - DEI Viewpoint ~ with Katie Saba
      Mon, September 13, 2021 Writing Smarter for Professionals: Express ~ with Jill Rendelstein
      Mon, September 06, 2021 No 40Plus Presentation for Labor Day!
      Mon, August 30, 2021 From Pandemic to Prosperity: Finding YOUR Perfect Franchise! ~ with Faizun Kamal
      Mon, August 23, 2021 How to Start a Business Using SBA and SCORE ~ with Walter Abbott
      Mon, August 16, 2021 The Vision of an Entrepreneur -- The Why and the Reasons to Be on the Journey ~ with Rajika Mahan
      Mon, August 09, 2021 My Personal Journey from Business Executive to Business Owner ~ with Holli Redekop Plus Overcoming Challenges After That Initial Success ~ with Moses Wright III
      Mon, August 02, 2021 The Entrepreneurs Mindset and The Power of Resolve ~ with Dhru Beeharilal
      Mon, July 26, 2021 Continue Your Career With More Than 100,000 Jobs Currently Available Working Remote & In Office Settings Across Northern Virginia ~ with Mike Batt
      Mon, July 19, 2021 Working for Uncle Sam: Seeking SES and Government Jobs ~ with Carol Moulton
      Mon, July 12, 2021 Transcending Fear and Anxiety Around Career Transitions and Making Bold Moves to Take You Forward ~ with Dr. Vinod Jain
      Mon, July 05, 2021 No 40Plus Presentation for Independence Day!
      Mon, June 28, 2021 Asking Works~ with Carole Stizza
      Mon, June 21, 2021 How To Overcome Ageism in Your Job Search ~ with Lisa Ealy
      Mon, June 14, 2021 What’s Next: A deep dive with NLP – what do you REALLY want? ~ with Jean L. Battersby
      Mon, June 07, 2021 Emerge Stronger -- Feedback and Speed Networking Session
      Mon, May 31, 2021 NO MONDAY SPEAKER on Memorial Day
      Mon, May 24, 2021 Leadership Awareness: When and How to Show Up ~ with Sha Sparks
      Mon, May 17, 2021 What Job Seekers Need to Know - Be Prepared to Get That Next Job ~ with Jim Thomas
      Mon, May 10, 2021 Getting Back into the Workforce ~ with Sheila Murphy
      Mon, May 03, 2021 The Power of Vision: 3 Keys to Accelerating Results ~ with Tamara Wolfe
      Mon, April 26, 2021 The New “Obamacare Plan Special Enrollment Period” for 2021 ~ with Eugene Poole
      Mon, April 19, 2021 Accessing the Hidden Job Market ~ with Shira Lotzar
      Mon, April 12, 2021 Be Deliberate, Look Reckless ~ with Dr. Sherri Yoder
      Mon, April 05, 2021 Beyond Your Profile - Leveraging LinkedIn for Your Job Search ~ with Joanna Hoffschneider
      Mon, March 29, 2021 Build a Career Planning Roadmap to Fire-Up Your Job Search ~ with Charley Swords
      Mon, March 22, 2021 Networking That Works - Tips on how to get more out of networking ~ with Jessica Brown
      Mon, March 15, 2021 Identifying and Harnessing Internal and External Resources to Build Resilience ~ with Neil Price
      Mon, March 08, 2021 7 Essentials for Turning an Idea into a Profitable Business ~ with Dhru Beeharilal
      Mon, March 01, 2021 The 9 Steps to Realizing Your Dream Job ~ with Ellen Mcilhenny
      Mon, February 22, 2021 The Vision Workshop: 3 Keys To Accelerating Your Results ~ with Rajika Mahan
      Mon, February 15, 2021 Using Simple Coaching Techniques to Succeed in Work and Life ~ with Millree Williams
      Mon, February 08, 2021 5 Steps to Discover and Define Your Career Genius Zone ~ with Tracy Timm
      Mon, February 01, 2021 The Best Responses to the Toughest Interview Questions ~ with Cheryl Hyatt
      Mon, January 25, 2021 FIND JOBS IN NORTHERN VIRGINIA--40 PLUS, FCEDA EMBARK ON PARTNERSHIP
      Mon, January 18, 2021 Encore Careers: Finding Work that Matters in the Second Half of Life ~ with Faizun Kamal
      Mon, January 11, 2021 Six Secrets of a Productive Job Search: How to Leverage Technology to Land a Job Fast! ~ with Laura Labovich
      Mon, January 04, 2021 Three Keys for Exponential Growth in 2021 ~ with Kevin Coleman